Earning a broker license demonstrates a significant commitment to understanding all aspects of the real estate industry. Whether a salesperson’s career goal is to manage their own firm or to better serve their clients, achieving a Pennsylvania broker’s license requires intensive training and experience in the industry.
Broker Licensing Requirements
A total of 16 credits or 240 hours is required to be eligible to sit for the Pennsylvania Broker’s Exam. All courses are a minimum of 2 credits (30 hours). A maximum of 4 credits (60 hours) is allowed per course and/or area of real estate study. (1 credit = 15 hours)
Required – 2 credits (30 hours) in Real Estate Office Management
Required – 2 credits (30 hours) in Real Estate Law
Required – 6 credits (90 hours) each in at least three of the following 2-credit courses:
- Valuation of Income Producing Property
- Valuation of Residential Property
- Non-Residential Property Management
- Residential Property Management
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Investment
- Real Estate Construction
- Real Estate Sales
The remaining 6 credits (90 hours) may be taken in any elective topic approved for broker credit by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission.
NOTE: Credits received as part of this program are valid for ten (10) years from the date taken.
Broker candidates must also document three (3) years of experience in real estate sales and accumulate 200 points in real estate activity. The point system can be found on the Broker Examination Eligibility Application, form # 56 SPOA- 2103. Forms are available at the Association of REALTORS® School.
Interested in tracking your progress towards achieving your Pennsylvania Broker License? Click here to access the Association of REALTORS® School-designed Broker Applicant Worksheet.
Test and Renewal
Once a broker licensing candidate has successfully completed the education and experience requirements, they are eligible to sit for the Pennsylvania Broker License exam. This exam administered through PSI Examination Services. For more information, click here.
The renewal of a Pennsylvania Broker License is similar to that of a salesperson. Every two years, a licensee must complete 14 hours of approved continuing education and remit payment to the state for the renewal of the license. The current renewal period is 2014-2016 (May 31, 2016 is the deadline).
Note that the definitive source for information on broker licensing is the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission.
For questions about obtaining a broker’s license, please contact Gail Parke at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 610-560-4900.